August 15, 2012

I Have Seen the Future and It Is Not Pretty

Posted in Family tagged , , , at 8:05 am by msweet42

On the last day we were in Iowa we spent the morning visiting Mom and Dad.

Mom was much less talkative. Halting in mid-sentence, becoming distracted by spots on the step of her walker that stands in front of her, mumbling. Generally presenting much more closely to what we had been warned to expect.

It dawns on me that I’ve been given a gift. I have been able to chat with my mother for several days. We have talked of everything, anything, and nothing. It has been wonderful.

I thank Mary Jean Logan Sweet for that.

Looking back on that time now, a month later, I think of her as a young girl, playing on the shores of Lost Island Lake.

I’m good with that.

1 Comment »

  1. grlsctldr (Mary Ann) said,

    I’m so glad I get to see mom through your eyes. I love what I see.


Leave a Reply

